top of page

INAE-Young Engineer Award-2020

INAE-Young Engineer Award-2020
The last date of the receipt of nomination is 30th April, 2020
Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE)-Young Engineer Award-2020

The Academy undertakes programmes on technology policy issues of national concern and recommends measures for appropriate action by policy makers, planners and administrators for the overall development of the country. One of the objectives of the Academy is to encourage inventions, scientific investigations and research to promote their application for development of all sectors of national economy.

With a view to promoting the pursuit of excellence in the field of 'Engineering', the Academy instituted the INAE "Young Engineer Award" in 1996. The selection for this prestigious Award is made by a Committee of distinguished Fellows of INAE on the basis of prescribed criteria. The names of all previous awardees are given in the INAE Website: (

Purpose of the Award:

To recognize outstanding achievements/contributions made by Young Engineers with strong potential for future professional growth impact in any branch of engineering.


  • Any citizen of India not older than 35 years holding the first tertiary degree in engineering/technology as on 1st of January 2020.

  • A nomination is valid for one year only. A candidate may be nominated for two successive years, subject to his/her age not exceeding 35 years.

Criteria: Evidence of excellence in engineering research, product/process, design, technology development and transfer specific contribution submitted for consideration of the Award should have been carried out in India.

Area of Work: Engineering research, excellence in engineering design, technology development and technology transfer. Work submitted for consideration of the Award should have been carried out totally in India.

Awards and Grants: The Award shall consist of a cash prize of Rs.1 lakh and a citation. All INAE Young Engineer Awardees will also become INAE Young Associates” on the conferment of the award and shall continue to be “INAE Young Associates” till attaining 45 years of age.

How to apply: 

  • Nominations are invited from engineers working in academia, R&D laboratories and industry. The sponsor must be either a fellow of INAE or Head of the Organisation/Institution where nominee is working.

  • The nominations are to be sent on A-4 size paper in the prescribed format clock on the Nomination Form button below or which may also be downloaded from INAE website A scanned soft copy of the completed proforma may also be sent by email to prior to posting original hard copy to INAE Office, Gurgaon by Speed Post/Courier.

The nominations should be addressed to:

Executive Director,

Indian National Academy of Engineering,

6th Floor, Unit No. 604-609,

SPAZE I-Tech Park,

Tower A,Sector 49, Sohna Road,

Gurgaon - 122018

Phone : 0124-4239480

Fax: 0124-4239481


INAE Website:

Selection Procedure: 

The Award is instituted to identify, recognize and encourage young and promising talents in India who have made and are likely to continue to make outstanding contributions impacting engineering research and design, technology development and transfer. The short listed nominees will be invited to make a presentation followed by an interaction with the Selection Committee on dates to be announced later.

Presentation of Award: 

The awardees will be invited for the INAE Annual Convention being held in December each year wherein they would be conferred with the award and also inducted as INAE Young Associate.

Important Dates: 

The last date for the receipt of nominations is 30th April, 2020.

"Keeping in view the present lock down and disruption of postal and courier services due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the last date for the receipt of nominations for INAE Young Engineer Award 2020 has been extended to April 30, 2020. A notification in this regard also containingthe revised modes of submission of nominations can be viewed by clicking here"

Please click on the "Nomination Form" button to download nomination form and click on the "Previous Awardees" button for all previous award winners.

Recipients of Young Engineer Award: 2019

  • Dr. Venugopal Arumuru, Assistant Professor, School of Mechanical Sciences, Indian Institute of Technology Bhubaneswar (Fluid and Thermal Science)

  • Dr. Bhushan Jayant Toley, Assistant Professor, Chemical Engineering Department, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore (Microfluidics and Point-of-Care Diagnostics)

  • Mr. S Narendar, Scientist D, Thermo-Structural Test Facility, Directorate of Materials and Structural Testing, Defence Research and Development Laboratory, Hyderabad (Thermo-Structural Testing and Wave Propagation in Nanostructures)

  • Dr. Uttam Kumar Ghorai, Assistant Professor, Department of Industrial Chemistry & Applied Chemistry, Ramakrishna Mission Vidyamandira, Howrah (Materials Science & Engineering, Materials Chemistry, Nanoscience & Nanotechnology)

  • Dr. Poulami Chakraborty, Scientific Officer E, Physical Metallurgy Section, Materials Science Division, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai (Liquid Metal Corrosion, Materials for Fusion & Advanced Nuclear Reactors.)

  • Dr. Shyamprasad Karagadde, Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, Mumbai (Solidification, Computational methods)

  • Mr. Rakesh Gupta, Scientist, Tata Consultancy Services, Hadapsar, Pune (Chemical Engineering, Multiscale modelling, Molecular Simulation & Modelling and Nanotechnology)

  • Mr. Sourabh Karmarkar, Sci./Engr. – SE, SCSE, SCSG, ESES, MSOB, Liquid Propulsion System Centre, Thiruvananthapuram.(Design, development & analysis of liquid propulsion Stage Systems)

  • Dr. Sandip Chakraborty, Assistant Professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur (Computer Systems and Ubiquitous Computing)

  • Dr. Ravishankar Krishnaswamy, Researcher, Microsoft Research, Vigyan Building, Bangalore (Design and analysis of algorithms for fundamental optimization problems)

  • Dr. R Sudharshan Kaarthik, Assistant Professor, Avionics Block, Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology, Thiruvananthapuram (Electrical Power Systems for satellite, Electronic Systems, Power Conversion, Renewable Energy)

  • Dr. Shyam Kamal, Assistant Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology (Banaras Hindu University), Varanasi (Control Systems)

  • Dr. Ketan Rajawat, Assistant Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur (Signal Processing in Networks)

  • Dr. VR Supradeepa, Assistant Professor, Centre for Nano Science and Engineering, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore (Photonics and Lasers specifically Optical communications, Fiber lasers and Amplifiers, Nonlinear Photonics, Integrated Photonics, Ultrafast Optics and RF Photonics)

  • Dr. JN Sheikh, Assistant Professor, Department of Textile Technology, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi (Fibres & Textile Processing Technology)

About Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE)

The Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE) founded in 1987 comprises India’s most distinguished engineers, engineer-scientists and technologists covering the entire spectrum of engineering disciplines, and functions as an apex body to promote and advance the practice of engineering and technology and the related sciences and disciplines in India and their application to problems of national importance.

Disclaimer: All the above data is gathered from INAE, all the logos and titles are belongs to INAE, EngMorph does not own any part of the data published in this page and EngMorph is not responsible for the correctness of the information presented. For more information, visit the INAE website.

Please subscribe below for Latest Rankings and Awards.

bottom of page